Fight On!

I want to share with you the longest walk in my life.

It was only a 100-metre walk but in my mind, it had seemed like I’ve walked for ages.

The walk was from a lecture theatre in a university to its student hostel.

Two ladies were walking in front of me and they were in deep discussion.

Every now and then, they would turn around and asked me some difficult questions.

I have never had to think so hard to respond to a question prior to that walk.

The reason is because the outcome of the ladies’ discussion could literally wipe out a good six months of my life.

More seriously, it would add stress and frustration on me and make life really tough.

At that point, I had embarked on completing a terminal degree, or what some would call, the pinnacle of a tertiary education.

It was a lifelong dream to stretch myself and put myself through one of the toughest rigors in the university.

This included conducting primary research and hopefully, contribute to the growing body of knowledge and improve society.

Since young, I have loved to learn but because I came from a very poor family, I had to support myself financially through a series of university programmes and do it on a part-time basis.

For years, I would spend three nights and sometimes, weekends, in classes and usually after a long tiring day or a week of work.

The rest of the free time would mainly be spent in the library, completing assignments, and studying for examinations.

Meanwhile, I had to juggle my passion for learning with growing responsibilities and duties at the workplace.

After completing a bachelor and two master’s degrees, I pursued other studies.

Eventually, I only attended short term seminars and courses.

All this while, I had never forgotten an item on my bucket list and that is to earn a doctorate degree.

As I grew older and immersed myself in other pursuits, it became harder and harder for me to make my educational dream come true.

There were lots of excuses that almost convinced me to put off my aspiration.

Subconsciously, there were also growing doubts about my determination, discipline and diligence.

One fateful day, I was given something which to this day, I couldn’t even remember what it was.

All I remember was the newspaper that was used to wrap that thing.

A relatively small advertisement on the paper caught my eyes and that advertisement never left my mind.

The advertisement seemed to pop out of the newspaper and it was screaming for my attention.

It was an advertisement for less than 20 students to pursue a doctoral degree at the University of Southern California (USC).

The course of study was designed for qualified senior executives from different parts of the world.

These students had to go through a series of stringent courseworks at three different campuses in Los Angeles, Doha and Hong Kong and finally, complete a dissertation.

I would have thrown the advertisement away if I had not told my family about it.

Since that day, they reminded me again and again and eventually, drove me nuts about fulfilling a lifelong dream.

At that point, it almost seemed like an impossible dream.

I could not even remember what I ate for lunch the day before, let alone memorize information from textbooks.

Finally, with strong support from my family, I applied and was accepted into the course of study.

At that point, little did I know that I had to invest my total being into one of the toughest challenges in my life’s journey.

Why was it tough?

First, I was one of the oldest students in the cohort and probably in the university.

I had no foundational knowledge about many of the subjects.

In fact, some of the subjects were initially way beyond my understanding and competence.

The focus of my research was in financial intelligence.

Few professors in the school were available to give me expert advice and guidance on the topic.

On top of that, I had started some new businesses and investment ventures.

These ventures took time and attention away from my studies.

I was also busy trying to manage many private affairs.

At the same time, I had to run many other initiatives, including a relatively long list of professional, civic, charity, grassroots, philanthropic and humanitarian initiatives.

In addition to these challenges, it didn’t help me to be constantly reminded that only 1% of students in tertiary level institutions has completed a doctoral degree.

Many doctoral candidates have started on the arduous journey but did not make it to the finishing line.

In the process of doing the course, some of the students from my cohort and other cohorts decided to drop out of the course.

As they were bright students, their withdrawals made me question my own commitment, ability and perseverance.

Some of my friends asked me, “At this stage in your life, does it matter if you have a doctorate degree?

“How does it help you in your business?

“Shouldn’t you focus on more important values and pursuits in life?”

To put it mildly, I was not only struggling in so many different ways throughout my course, I was also well-intendedly discouraged by many people on many occasions.

There were moments when I felt like crying – especially when I was studying alone and in the middle of the night.

Then, I went through one of the biggest shocks and failures in my learning journey.

That was how the story of the walk came into the picture.

The walk was one of the most poignant moments of my doctoral journey.

Prior to the walk, I had already submitted and defended the proposal for my dissertation.

In addition, I had done a fair amount of research and crafted the first three chapters of my dissertation.

By then, I felt like I have climbed a large part of a dark, steep and challenging virgin mountain.

Any student who has gone through the same rocky path would sympathise with me and tell you that it was a highly difficult part of an arduous journey.

Shortly after, I was discussing my dissertation with the Professor who taught me quantitative and qualitative research.

Imagine the shock when she told me that all the while, I had been doing my dissertation wrong!

I had to give up all that I’ve done and start all over again.

Her words made me feel weak and soft all over and dragged me down an emotional abyss.

That was when I got the supervisor of my dissertation to talk to her.

Actually, it was more like arguing with her for my sake.

From a short distance away, I could see the two highly-regarded professors debating my dissertation.

I could not hear the words but I could feel the verbal cut and thrust.

Finally, they both turned to me and said the words that I had been dreading to hear, “Patrick, sorry.

“Your dissertation is wrongly crafted. You have to start all over again.”

I felt like the road beneath me had opened up, plunging me into depths of emotional darkness.

That evening, no matter how I looked at my disqualified dissertation, I couldn’t think of how I could pick up the pieces and start the journey all over again.

I almost put up my hands and surrendered to the bitter winds of disappointment and rejection.

Thankfully, after walking around town like a zombie for a few days, I found the courage and strength to restart the project again.

In the words of the battle cry of the USC, I had to “Fight On!”

After that failure, I went on to battle many other challenges and overcome other failures.

I came very close at different points to mental and emotional exhaustion and collapse.

Thanks to encouragement and support from many people around me, I dug into the reservoir of stamina and pressed on until I completed the race.
I was filled with joy when I received my doctorate degree from the USC on 19 July 2014.

Just as importantly, I’m overjoyed for scoring straight As for my coursework and I am really proud of my final dissertation.

It was also a great honour to be nominated to deliver the student speech at the graduation dinner on 17 July 2015 at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion in Los Angeles.

Looking back on the doctoral journey, I learned and am still learning about one of the most critical factors for achieving sustainable success.

That critical success factor is tenacity.

To be continued…

Go4It!
I hope this message will find a place in your heart.
By the way, I have also recorded other reflections.
Please ‘Like’ me on https://m.facebook.com/patrickliewsg
Please visit my website, http://www.patrickliew.net
Follow me on:
https://www.quora.com/profile/Patrick-Liew-5
Visit my Inspiration blog at https://liewinspiration.wordpress.com/
For my opinions on social affairs, please visit my Transformation blog at http://hsrpatrickliew.wordpress.com/
Let’s connect on instagram.com/patrickliewsg – via @patrickliewsg
https: //twitter.com/patrickliew77
– via @patrickliew77
My LinkedIn
http://www.linkedin.com/in/liewpatrick
My Quora https://www.quora.com/profile/Patrick-Liew-5?share=24abf3c1&srid=uL2Gz
My YouTube Channel
www.youtube.com/channel/UCgyRa8WbYXHTtr39OUPCB2w
Please read my reflections and continue to teach me.
Life is FUNtastic!

About Patrick Liew
About Patrick Liew Patrick Liew MBA, MSc, BSc is the Managing Partner of Global Enterprise Exchange Pte. Ltd.. He is also the founder and director of Success Resources, arguably the world’s largest personal development seminar organiser and a major shareholder of a company, which is listed on the Australian Stock Exchange. He was previously the Executive Chairman and CEO of HSR Global Ltd., a publicly listed company on SGX-ST. Previously, he was the regional director of the Gartner Group, providing strategic advisory and planning services to governments, banks and MNCs. He was also the regional head of sales and marketing operation for Dow Jones Telerate. Patrick graduated with a BSc in Estate Management from Heriot Watt University, an MSc with emphasis in global business and marketing from The City University Of New York, and an MBA from Henley Business School / Brunel University. He has also earned more than nine other professional qualifications. Patrick is arguably the first person to develop a multimedia e-learning programme on entrepreneurship. He authored a Chinese book on business systems and was also the co-author of a Times Bookshop best-selling book. Patrick has conducted both ‘brick and mortar’ and online lessons for participants from more than 60 countries. He has also conducted keynote presentations in many international conferences, including being the first Singaporean to teach at the National Association of Realtors. Through his team at Success Resources, Patrick has organised educational conferences for prominent leaders such as President Bill Clinton, Prime Minister Tony Blair, Michael Porter, Richard Branson, Robert Kiyosaki, Donald Trump, and many other prominent leaders. Patrick provides leadership and advisory services to many professional and charity organisations. He is actively involved in supporting humanitarian, philanthropic and charity causes. He has organised three fund-raising events and in the process, help to set three national records in the Singapore Books Of Records. Patrick won the Entrepreneur Of the Year Award For Social Contribution, the Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Award, and six other business awards. Patrick believes the best way to live your life is to live your life for others. The more you reach out to bless other lives, the richer and better your life will become. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- A Personal Note to my Friends The articles that I post online; or what I term as Love Notes, are written with the purpose of inspiring readers to live at a higher plane in life. They are also meant to motivate those who are struggling in life and help them find handlers to overcome their conflicts and challenges. It is my ardent hope that we will form networks and alliances of like-minded people who will put to right many of the wrongs in our midst. Together, we will leverage on each other's resources and create a synergistic impact in making our world a better home. These articles are written as part of regular reflection about the vicissitudes of life. They are at best work in progress and at worst, grumblings, grouses, and gripings of a finite old man. I have deliberately decided NOT to delete many of the articles and pointers that I may not agree with or are outrightly wrong. This is to keep a record of how my personal ideas, beliefs, and values have evolved over time. In addition, I hope to encourage readers by letting them know that I also make mistakes and am struggling with many of the complexity and complication in life. As long as we hang on to hope and work on finding a solution, there will be light at the end of whatever tunnel we are in. I do not pretend to know everything or for that matter, anything of substance. In fact, the more I study, learn, and think about the vast wisdom and knowledge out there, the more I realised how little I know about life and the ways of life. Hence, I have always ended my article by asking readers to continue to teach me. For I, too, am a sojourner in the exploration of truth and the adventure of finding meaning, purpose, and significance for my existence. I am proud of and make no apology for being a Christian, albeit not the most exemplary one. I believe our Creator can lead and guide us to be the best that we can ever be. I bear full responsibility for the shortcoming and error in my life, including my words. The fault is entirely mine and not due to anyone else. Readers have and can exercise the power of choice. They can discard what will not work for them and adopt those that can propel them further and faster in the pursuit of better performance, outcomes, and fulfillment. If I have disappointed or hurt you in any way, form, or manner, I would like to apologise to you. Please do not hold them against me or whoever or whatever is related to me. There are much to pray about, learn, and do. And I'll work on them with a sense of urgency. I hold on to the belief that 'Anything worth doing is worth doing with passion and excellence'. I'll endeavour to live by it. Life is short. There's no dress rehearsal and neither can we turn back the clock to change the drama of life. Therefore, by the grace and power of our Creator, let's live a full life and live it to the fullest. May God bless you abundantly on the journey of life. Your online servant, Patrick Liew I hope this message will find a place in your heart. By the way, I have also recorded other reflections. Please 'Like' me on https://m.facebook.com/patrickliewsg Visit my Inspiration blog at https://liewinspiration.wordpress.com/ For my opinions on social affairs, please visit my Transformation blog at http://hsrpatrickliew.wordpress.com/ Please visit my website, http://www.patrickliew.net Please read my reflection and continue to teach me. Life is FUNtastic!

Leave a comment