Blessing Of Good Food.

On Christmas Day  2012, my family and I decided to have our dinner at the Azure, a highly acclaimed restaurant in Cape Town, South Africa. It is located at the Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, a beautiful place that is nestled between the Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean.

It was my eldest daughter who took time to study the dining scene in that city. She booked a table prior to our arrival so as to, in the words of the restaurant’s website, ‘avoid disappointment.’

The advertisement proved to be true because it was a full house even though we reached the restaurant at about 9.15 pm. Perhaps, the fact that it won the ‘2013 Accredited American Express Platinum Card Fine Dining Restaurant’ had something to do with it.

My first surprise for the evening came about when I read the menu. It was politely offered to me by a well dressed and quite clearly, an experienced maitre d’.

Right on the first page was a policy statement about its corporate social responsibility.

Apparently, that restaurant subscribed to the South African Sustainable Seafood Initiative and its ‘best practice guidelines for sustainable seafood.’ This was in line with supporting ‘responsible fisheries and the many local communities which rely on healthy ecosystems to provide them with their livelihood.’

It was a good start for a responsible meal, not that I was prepared for it.

It was also interesting to discover that Executive Chef Henrico Grobbelaar started his career as an engineer before he found his culinary calling in November 2002.

Since then, he has won many accolades and has been considered, according to information in the menu as ‘one of the most creative and celebrated chef’ in his country and a  ‘natural talent’.

For starter, I ordered Beatrice Tollman’s famous ‘homemade’ Chicken Noodle Soup.

No, I did not have a cold to cure, but the soup was certainly comforting to the body. It has a full flavor and has a pleasant umami that lingered on the taste buds.

Did I mention that I was offered a surprisingly wide selection of bread? I chose a slice of Capetown seeded loaf which is baked with 7 different types of seeds. I discovered later that they included- surprise! – poppy seeds.

No wonder, I was already half way to paradise before the main course. Lol!

Incidentally, Beatrice who was also affectionately known as ‘Bea’ and sometimes ‘Mama’ is one of the founders of the restaurant and President of Red Carnation Hotel Collection.

She was a renowned chef and author of her memoirs, ‘A Life In Food.’ The tabletop book detailing the best food that she has taken and the people she met while on a food trail all over the world.

After the starter, there was a round of light and refreshing raspberry sorbet to cleanse the palate. It was also a visual treat because the waitress poured water into a small receptacle of dry ice. As a result, the low-sinking, dense clouds of fog-like smoke created a celestial effect around the sorbet.

Earlier on, I had looked at the selection of main courses and one item stood out from the rest, the Cape Malay Chicken Curry. Imagine eating Asian food in South Africa and in a European-styled restaurant.

It was a pleasant surprise as I had been on the road for more than a week. Deep inside me, I was beginning to crave for Asian food and was willing to take the risk even if is not authentic.

After tasting the thick curry, I found it to be slightly sweet and subtly spicy. It was served with another series of surprises – star-aniseed basmati rice, sambals, warm butter-roti and a poppadum.

What’s more, it came with nine different condiments, including apricot chutney, fresh coconut shavings, and pepper salsa. All these items provided a surprising array of ‘oomphs’ to complement the curry.

Although the curry tasted unusual, it was nonetheless exquisite and delicious. The fusion of western and eastern tastes offered a satisfying experience and left a warm and flavourful sensation on a cool evening.

The sommelier recommended Graham Beck Brut, a Cape Classique wine – South Africa’s answer to champagne – to go with the meal. As I was appointed ‘chauffeur’ for the night, I had about five sips worth of the light-bodied wine. Enough to leave behind a surprisingly refreshing aftertaste.

The meal ended on a crescendo. The climax of the wonderful dining experience was the highly recommended ice cream.

The silky-soft icy texture came in three flavours; my favourite peppermint crisp, and chocolate flake and halva ice cream. They were rich, creamy and – obviously – pleasantly sweet, a sensational end to a great dining experience.

As it was late in the evening, I skipped coffee. Instead, I popped one of the candy-coated soft mints into my mouth, something which I rarely did.

After washing my hands in the toilet and filling my mouth with a wonderful minty taste, I dropped the remaining of the mint into the garbage bin. The least I could do to avoid consuming more calories from a good meal.

That night, I practically floated out of the restaurant. Back in my hotel room, I fell asleep before my back touched the bed and went straight into heavenly slumber.

In the deep recesses of my mind, I heard jingle bells, Christmas carols and what sounded like Ho! Ho! Ho!

The next morning, I felt very grateful and thankful that this kampung old man could enjoy such a good meal so far away from home. Some interesting thoughts also crossed my mind.

The way to a person’s heart is to plan for a series of pleasant surprises – and to do it purposefully and consistently. That’s what made our dining experience such a memorable one.

If I don’t enjoy good food, there must be an angel out there who is heart-broken. Someday when I get to heaven, the angel will ask me why I did not enjoy the food that our Creator has inspired the chef to prepare for me.

Truly, a good dining experience is catching a glimpse of heaven.

Go4It!
I hope this message will find a place in your heart.

By the way, I have also recorded other reflections.

Visit my Inspiration blog at https://liewinspiration.wordpress.com/

For my opinions on current affairs, please visit my Transformation blog at http://hsrpatrickliew.wordpress.com/

Please visit my website, www.patrickliew.net

Please read my reflections and continue to teach me.

Life is FUNtastic!

About Patrick Liew
About Patrick Liew Patrick Liew MBA, MSc, BSc is the Managing Partner of Global Enterprise Exchange Pte. Ltd.. He is also the founder and director of Success Resources, arguably the world’s largest personal development seminar organiser and a major shareholder of a company, which is listed on the Australian Stock Exchange. He was previously the Executive Chairman and CEO of HSR Global Ltd., a publicly listed company on SGX-ST. Previously, he was the regional director of the Gartner Group, providing strategic advisory and planning services to governments, banks and MNCs. He was also the regional head of sales and marketing operation for Dow Jones Telerate. Patrick graduated with a BSc in Estate Management from Heriot Watt University, an MSc with emphasis in global business and marketing from The City University Of New York, and an MBA from Henley Business School / Brunel University. He has also earned more than nine other professional qualifications. Patrick is arguably the first person to develop a multimedia e-learning programme on entrepreneurship. He authored a Chinese book on business systems and was also the co-author of a Times Bookshop best-selling book. Patrick has conducted both ‘brick and mortar’ and online lessons for participants from more than 60 countries. He has also conducted keynote presentations in many international conferences, including being the first Singaporean to teach at the National Association of Realtors. Through his team at Success Resources, Patrick has organised educational conferences for prominent leaders such as President Bill Clinton, Prime Minister Tony Blair, Michael Porter, Richard Branson, Robert Kiyosaki, Donald Trump, and many other prominent leaders. Patrick provides leadership and advisory services to many professional and charity organisations. He is actively involved in supporting humanitarian, philanthropic and charity causes. He has organised three fund-raising events and in the process, help to set three national records in the Singapore Books Of Records. Patrick won the Entrepreneur Of the Year Award For Social Contribution, the Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Award, and six other business awards. Patrick believes the best way to live your life is to live your life for others. The more you reach out to bless other lives, the richer and better your life will become. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- A Personal Note to my Friends The articles that I post online; or what I term as Love Notes, are written with the purpose of inspiring readers to live at a higher plane in life. They are also meant to motivate those who are struggling in life and help them find handlers to overcome their conflicts and challenges. It is my ardent hope that we will form networks and alliances of like-minded people who will put to right many of the wrongs in our midst. Together, we will leverage on each other's resources and create a synergistic impact in making our world a better home. These articles are written as part of regular reflection about the vicissitudes of life. They are at best work in progress and at worst, grumblings, grouses, and gripings of a finite old man. I have deliberately decided NOT to delete many of the articles and pointers that I may not agree with or are outrightly wrong. This is to keep a record of how my personal ideas, beliefs, and values have evolved over time. In addition, I hope to encourage readers by letting them know that I also make mistakes and am struggling with many of the complexity and complication in life. As long as we hang on to hope and work on finding a solution, there will be light at the end of whatever tunnel we are in. I do not pretend to know everything or for that matter, anything of substance. In fact, the more I study, learn, and think about the vast wisdom and knowledge out there, the more I realised how little I know about life and the ways of life. Hence, I have always ended my article by asking readers to continue to teach me. For I, too, am a sojourner in the exploration of truth and the adventure of finding meaning, purpose, and significance for my existence. I am proud of and make no apology for being a Christian, albeit not the most exemplary one. I believe our Creator can lead and guide us to be the best that we can ever be. I bear full responsibility for the shortcoming and error in my life, including my words. The fault is entirely mine and not due to anyone else. Readers have and can exercise the power of choice. They can discard what will not work for them and adopt those that can propel them further and faster in the pursuit of better performance, outcomes, and fulfillment. If I have disappointed or hurt you in any way, form, or manner, I would like to apologise to you. Please do not hold them against me or whoever or whatever is related to me. There are much to pray about, learn, and do. And I'll work on them with a sense of urgency. I hold on to the belief that 'Anything worth doing is worth doing with passion and excellence'. I'll endeavour to live by it. Life is short. There's no dress rehearsal and neither can we turn back the clock to change the drama of life. Therefore, by the grace and power of our Creator, let's live a full life and live it to the fullest. May God bless you abundantly on the journey of life. Your online servant, Patrick Liew I hope this message will find a place in your heart. By the way, I have also recorded other reflections. Please 'Like' me on https://m.facebook.com/patrickliewsg Visit my Inspiration blog at https://liewinspiration.wordpress.com/ For my opinions on social affairs, please visit my Transformation blog at http://hsrpatrickliew.wordpress.com/ Please visit my website, http://www.patrickliew.net Please read my reflection and continue to teach me. Life is FUNtastic!

Leave a comment